Logo Classic at Home

Zsofia Ujvary-Menyhart

FlagGermany, Hamburg Hamburg NoteViolin

The public voting is currently closed.


Zsófia Ujváry-Menyhárt (born 2003 in Hamburg) received her first violin lesson at the age of 6. Since November 2020, Zsófia is taking lessons from Ralf Kröger at the Hamburger Konservatorium. Zsófia took part in several masterclasses.

Between 2016 and 2020, she received a scholarship from the "Initiative Jugend Kammermusik" and since 2017 a scholarship of the Förderverein "Jugend musiziert".

From 2017 to 2019, Zsófia was the principal violinist of the 2nd violins in the Albert Schweitzer Youth Orchestra. Since 2018 she is a member of the national youth orchestra of Germany and since 2019 also of the NDR youth orchestra. There she played with conductors like Paavo Järvi, Alan Gilbert, Ingo Metzmacher and Lothar Zagrosek. Zsófia made concert tours in China, Italy, Slovenia, Hungary and Germany and she played in some of the greatest concert halls like Berliner Philharmonie, Elbphilharmonie, Kölner Philharmonie and Konzerthaus Berlin.

Since 2013 she was awarded with many first prizes and several special prizes in the "Jugend musiziert" competition. For example the special prize of the NDR Symphony Orchestra, the "Young ClassX Soloist Award" and the special prize of the Förderverein "Jugend musiziert". Zsófia also won a special prize at the Fehér Ilona International Violin competition in Budapest in 2018.

Zsófia is an avid chamber musician. She participated with her piano quintet in a masterclass by Prof. Dirk Mommertz in Munich. With her string quartet she played the opening of the Notos Quartet's concert in the Laeiszhalle and a premiere in the grand hall of the Elbphilharmonie.

The violin Zsófia plays on is a J.B.Vuillaume from the year 1865, a loan from Brigitte Feldtmann.

See all videos

Participant's status: Classic@Home artist
Zsofia Ujvary-Menyhart

Go back