Logo Classic at Home

Vincas Bacius

FlagLithuania, Vilnius Vilnius NoteDouble bass

The public voting is currently closed.


Born in 1999, V. Bačius started playing the double bass at the age of 10. After graduating Balys Dvarionas music school and performing his first solo recital in 2017, he entered the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theater under prof. Donatas Bagurskas.

While still in Bachelor studies, V. Bačius has already had outstanding international success, from which the latest – 3rd Prize in the „No Limit“ category of the International Sperger Double Bass Competition ‘Quarantine Challenge‘ in 2020. This award was presented for Vincas‘ own arrangement of Pēteris Vasks’ ‘Bass Trip’ and Adam Ben Ezra‘s ‘Can‘t Stop Running’.

Other notable awards include the 1st Prize and special Eduardas Balsys fund Prize at 19th International Lithuanian Composers Chamber Music Performance Competition in 2019 (duo with pianist Jonas Šopa) and the 3rd Prize in the International Baltic Strings Competition, 2018.

V. Bačius has participated in masterclasses of Miloslav Jelínek, Christine Hoock, Josef Niederhammer, Per Lundberg and spent a semester in the Hochschule für Musik Basel, Switzerland, under prof. Roman Patkoló.

In 2018 V. Bačius entered the New Ideas Chamber Orchestra NICO – a progressive classical music ensemble led by the Lithuanian composer Gediminas Gelgotas. As a member, Vincas has performed in leading festivals such as Odessa Classics (Ukraine), NOMUS (Serbia), Ventura Music Festival (California), Toulon Music Festival (France), Usedom Music Festival (Germany) and shared the stage with many today‘s stars of classical music such as Ole Edvard Antonsen, Roman Patkoló, Avi Avital, Mari Samuelsen, Ksenija Sidorova, Vytautas Sondeckis, Kiril Troussov and David Nebel among others.

See all videos

Participant's status: Classic@Home artist
Vincas Bacius

Go back